popinions

about   tags    ask my opinion   

these are my opinions on all thing POP.

May 15, 2014 at 12:01pm
2 notes

Love Never Felt So Good - Michael Jackson, Justin Timberlake ♥

(I know I haven’t posted on here in ages, but I’m going to pretend like it never happened)

So, I finally got around to listening to the new single off the forthcoming posthumous Michael Jackson album. My reactionary thought about the whole album was, “Can’t they let that poor man rest in peace?”. It will be 5 years this June since the King of Pop died.

I just don’t see the need to hammer and twist what ever remnants of music he left behind into a polished album for anything other than money. Because the truth of the matter is that Michael was a sensation because he was not replicable. And any sound you create in his image won’t be Michael, could never be Michael. Even if it’s his voice and his songs, I think of it more as a sad tribute album, maybe more optimistically, a celebration of his music rather than a gift from him. Anyway, lets get to the music video which came out yesterday and is rife with MJ-references from Black & White, Smooth Criminal, Billie Jean, Bad, and, of course, Thriller. 

Justin Timberlake was the obvious pick for today’s falsetto-famous, groovy, soul-pop artist. It’s a good fit. The song grooves and bops like a Michael song but in the end, like I said, it didn’t leave me feeling like Michael was alive again, it left me feeling sad that he was gone. The video did have a joyous vibe to it though so I’m going to stick to the “celebration of MJ” mindset because it’s happier than believing this is all just one last money grab. 

I guess when you become as legendary as Michael Jackson, you can never really die.

August 31, 2013 at 6:45pm
0 notes

Paramore perform “Still Into You” on Conan

Best pop TV performance I’ve seen in a while.

August 15, 2013 at 1:39pm
6 notes

This Is Gospel - Panic! At The Disco

New video for the new song off Panic!’s new album!

I pre-ordered the album yesterday and so I received a download of this song and Miss Jackson (which I already owned). At first I was like, “ehhhh,” but then I was like “THIS IS SO PANIC AND THIS IS SO GOOD!”

Then I went and watched this music video and… I am blown away. This music video is PER-FEC-TION. I don’t even know where to start with how well-done this music video is. The editing and camera movements make the emotions visceral and palpable. I also love the jerky physical movements and they remind me a lot of Jan Svankmajer (especially in the part with the ropes).

However, what gives with the BRENDON SHOW? ALL BRENDON, ALL THE TIME! I talked about this in my last post, but seriously. I wasn’t surprised to see him as the sole featured person in this music video, and I know he’s the lead singer and they always hog up the spotlight, and it’s not like I don’t love me some Brendon Urie, but… what does the rest of the band think about this?

ANYWAY GREAT VIDEO SONG BIG APPLAUSE YES

Pre-order Panic!’s new album here!

PS: A moment is needed to appreciate BRENDON’S BOOTY in this video. What a booty, folks.

1:47am
0 notes

PANIC! AT THE DISCO PRE-ORDER!

P!ATD revealed the cover art for their upcoming album on their facebook today and announced that it is available for pre-order for a limited-time price of $7.99!

I’m weirded out by the unabashed BRENDON-ness of this album, why is he the only one on the cover? and he was practically the only one in the music video for Miss Jackson? And he alone is their facebook icon?

Anyway, I adore P!ATD and I’ve loved each of their varied releases so I pre-ordered without worrying about their “changing sound” everyone keeps whining about. When you pre-order you get a download of Miss Jackson and a new song This Is Gospel!

I haven’t decided how I feel about This Is Gospel yet but I just saw that there is already a music video for it??? Damn, I am a bad Panic! fan… anyway, I’m gonna go watch that, you can pre-order Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die here.

August 13, 2013 at 1:09am
1 note

Rosen: Ten Snap Judgments on Lady Gaga'€™s 'Applause' →

This is article is perfect.

August 12, 2013 at 11:21pm
3 notes

APPLAUSE - LADY GAGA

IT’S HERE!!! Hackers were leaking the song so gaga released it a week early and all this happened RIGHT before I went to work so I only got to hear it once and then had to spend ALL day at work while the world blew up but I’m making up for it now by listening on repeat.

MY POPINION: IT’S SO FAB. I am dancing/crying/sweating/screaming/clawing-my-face off and all of it is good. Plus it’s totally not a racist appropriation of Islamic culture! YAY.

July 30, 2013 at 1:12am
20 notes

I already reviewed Natalia Kills music video for Saturday Night here, but I just saw this Behind The Scenes video embedded in this Teen Vogue interview that she just tweeted and I thought it was really lovely. I love the bathroom-singing, in the beginning, a moment spent preening oneself in front of the mirror in privacy & I like the bittersweet quote at the end and the gentle acceptance of the camera man. 

This quote from the interview makes me really excited to hear the album:

What can we expect from your next album?
You know how when something bad happens to you, and everyone tells you, “Time will heal, don’t let this define who you become”? I realized that’s mostly bull, and that certain things in my past are the reason I am who am I today. My album, Trouble, is a melodic documentary of all the worst moments of my childhood, all the terrible stuff I did as a teenager, every bad mistake I’ve ever made. Even though I’m singing about the tough times, it somehow makes me feel like it was never that bad at all.

The fact that Natalia’s new music is going to be a cathartic release of past demons makes me feel… relaxed? It’s just nice to see people dealing with emotional pain in healthy ways, and I think that’s when some of the best art is created so I can’t wait to receive Natalia’s energy!

What I like about this image I’m getting of Natalia lately is that she is an incredibly real, genuine, honest person who lets her raw self be exposed, but at the same time she is person dedicated to POP, to image, to style and fashion and makeup, to cool and to artifice. That’s what I love in pop artists. Andy Warhol once said, “I am deeply superficial.” That’s who I am. That’s whom I connect with. No matter what other people say about the vulgar worthlessness of POP, it is something I deeply connect with.

July 29, 2013 at 12:11am
4,886 notes
Reblogged from thecharles

But ask yourself: Why is there that knee-jerk rejection of any effort to ‘overthink’ pop culture? Why would you ever be afraid that looking too hard at something will ruin it? If the government built a huge, mysterious device in the middle of your town and immediately surrounded it with a fence that said, ‘NOTHING TO SEE HERE!’ I’m pretty damned sure you wouldn’t rest until you knew what the hell that was — the fact that they don’t want you to know means it can’t be good.

Well, when any idea in your brain defends itself with ‘Just relax! Don’t look too close!’ you should immediately be just as suspicious. It usually means something ugly is hiding there.

— 

- David Wong

This quote is in an article about superhero movies, but it applies to so many things.

(via thecharles)

IMPORTANT

(via tylerthelatteboy)

July 27, 2013 at 2:05am
4 notes

MOVIE REVIEW: THE CONJURING!

I’ve been excited to see The Conjuring since I watched the trailer a while ago and the other day I went with my friend expecting a big scare! The marketing made this movie look really fresh, but in reality… it was a little disappointing.

My opinions are actually a mixed bag, while I do think the movie did very little that felt new (honestly, it was every single scary movie trope tossed into one) it DID manage to entertain me and even scare me at some parts so it wasn’t all bad. It just didn’t live up to the hype.

Things I DID like about this movie: the retro vibe! This movie is set in 1971 and not only was everyone wearing groovy outfits they even incorporated retro film-making techniques! I loved the yellow titling, and the slow panning zooms were GIVING ME LIFE!! (Can we give outdated camera-movements a comeback moment?)

Also, I just wanna mention the amazing performance of Joey King in this movie, who plays one of the young daughters. Honestly, I judge child-actors ability to act on how well they can cry and SHE SOLD THIS FUCKING FILM ON HER TEARS I’M TELLING YOU. Whenever she was onscreen I felt like the terror was real. Not to mention she killed it on the red carpet at the premiere.

I would also like to give credit to the unsung heroes of Hollywood: Whomever did the stunt work for this film was really dedicated, I can think of two really excellent stunts from this film, including one stair fall that actually made me say, “wow,” out loud.

How do my movie reviews always end up being appraisals of stuff like camera movements and stuntwomen? Anyway, lets get to the stuff that was NOT good about this film.

I think what really sunk this film was the writing. It was not focused enough. They started out fine, then they threw in cliché after cliché, okay, whatever, but by the end of the film I didn’t feel like there was any real oomph, originality, direction, resolution, nothing made me feel any especially strong emotions. AND LORD ALMIGHTY, did they overuse the whole “OH-NO-something-scary-is-happening-to-someone-in-that-room-but-we-can’t-get-in-to-see-what’s-going-on-because-the-door-demonically-shut-by-itself-and-we’re-here-pounding-on-the-outside-in-a-moment-of-tension!” Seriously. By the end of the movie I was saying “Why haven’t they just taken all the doors off the hinges so this stops happening??”

Moreover, I think this movie suffered from “showing too much”. When it comes to horror movies I love suspense, and it is always, always, always better to leave your audience hanging, not knowing, just hinting at evilness and letting their imagination fill in the gaps. People’s own imaginations will scare them better than you can.

I don’t understand why this movie is getting such good reviews. I didn’t dislike it! In fact, I thought it was fun! But it wasn’t great either, it was just a bunch of clichés. Well-done and entertaining clichés! It was a good old American horror story… but it wasn’t really that scary. My final word is: Good, but not great.

MY POPINION: 3 of 5 stars

July 25, 2013 at 6:28pm
1 note

More perfume excitement!

I decided to catch up on my Nicki news and I found these shots she instagrammed from a new shoot for her fragrance line! I adore the queenly look and I’m actually really in love with her perfume “Pink Friday” too! I wish had money to spend on ridiculously expensive bottles of scented water.

Catch up on your Nicki Minaj news at MyPinkFriday.com